WINCHESTER CITY COUNCIL

At the Annual Meeting of the Council held in the Guildhall, Winchester on 16 May 2018.

Attendance:

Councillor McLean (The Mayor in the Chair) (P)

Councillors:

Achwal (P)	Huxstep (P)
Ashton (P)	Izard (P)
Becker (P)	Laming (P)
Bell (P)	Learney (P)
Bentote (P)	Mather (P)
Berry (P)	McLean (P)
Brook (P)	Miller (P)
Burns (P)	Murphy (P)
Clear (P)	Pearson (P)
Cook (P)	Porter (P)
Cunningham	Power (P)
Cutler (P)	Prince (P)
Evans	Read (P)
Gemmell (P)	Ruffell (P)
Godfrey (P)	Rutter (P)
Gottlieb (P)	Scott (P)
Green (P)	Stallard (P)
Griffiths (P)	Thacker (P)
Hiscock (P)	Thompson (P)
Horrill (P)	Tod (P)
Humby (P)	Warwick
Hutchison (P)	Weir (P)
	Weston (P)

1. **ELECTION OF MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Read.

Seconded by Councillor Weston and resolved unanimously that Councillor Frank Pearson be elected Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 16 May 2018.

Councillor McLean vacated the Chair, which was taken by the Mayor who made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. **VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Miller.

Seconded by Councillor Read and resolved unanimously that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor McLean for his service to the Council as Mayor during the past year.

3. **ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Evans.

Seconded by Councillor Thompson and resolved unanimously that Councillor Eleanor Bell be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 16 May 2018.

4. <u>APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF CABINET AND REMAINING</u> MEMBERS OF CABINET BY THE LEADER

The Leader, Councillor Horrill, appointed Councillor Humby as Vice-Chairman of Cabinet and Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Leader also appointed Councillors Ashton, Brook, Godfrey, Griffiths, Miller and Warwick as the remaining Members of Cabinet.

5. **ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN**

The following Members were elected Chairman of the Committees stated for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

The Overview and Scrutiny – Councillor Learney
Audit – Councillor Cutler
Licensing and Regulation – Councillor Mather
Planning – Councillor Ruffell
Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning Committee - Councillor Ruffell
Personnel – Councillor Read
Standards Committee – Councillor Berry
Housing Appeals Committee – Councillor Cook
Appeals and Disputes – Councillor Weston

6. **APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS**

With the exception of Cabinet, the Council reviewed the political representation on Committees in accordance with the provisions of Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

The Council determined the representation on all the bodies as set out below under alternative arrangements for the Housing Appeals and Appeals and Disputes Committees, but having regard to the political balance formula.

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Corporate Head of Resources be authorised to make any minor consequential amendments to the Constitution to give effect to the decisions made.
 - 2. That the allocation of seats to political groups be as follows:

The Overview and Scrutiny (11)

Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (5)

Audit (7)

Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (3)

Licensing and Regulation (12)

Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (6)

Planning (9)

Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (4)

Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning Committee (5)

Conservatives (3): Liberal Democrats (2)

Personnel (7)

Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (3)

Standards (11)

Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (5)

Housing Appeals (3)

Conservatives (2): Liberal Democrats (1)

Appeals and Disputes (8)

Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (4)

Audit (Governance) Sub-Committee (5)

Conservatives (3): Liberal Democrats (2)

Further to the above, and pursuant to Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Chief Executive served notice on each of the Leaders of the two political groups on the Council as to the allocation of seats on Committees as indicated above.

RESOLVED:

That the following appointments to Committees be made (inclusive of the Chairmen who were appointed earlier in the meeting):-

The Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Councillors Cunningham, Evans, Gemmell, Learney, McLean, Scott, Stallard, Thacker, Thompson, Tod, Weston Deputies

Councillors Berry, Mather, Hiscock, Weir

Audit

Councillors Bentote, Burns, Cutler, Huxstep, Mather, Prince, Stallard, Deputies

Councillors Cunningham, Power

Licensing and Regulation

Councillors Becker, Bentote, Berry, Burns, Cook, Green, Izard, Laming, Mather, McLean, Power, Read

Deputies

Councillors Achwal, Gottlieb

<u>Planning</u>

Councillors Clear, Evans, Gottlieb, Izard, McLean, Read, Ruffell, Rutter, Weston

Deputies

Councillors Berry, Cunningham, Laming, Scott

Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning

Councillors Clear, Evans, Read, Ruffell, Weston

Deputies

Councillors Gottlieb, Izard

Personnel

Councillors Achwal, Bentote, Berry, Cook, Cutler, Read, Weston Deputies

Councillors Murphy, Thacker

Standards

Councillors Bell, Berry, Clear, Cunningham, Evans, Gemmell, Izard, Laming, Mather, McLean, Thacker

Note: Independent Persons and Parish Representatives already appointed for 2018/19 municipal year.

Audit (Governance) Sub-Committee

Councillors Burns, Cutler, Huxstep, Prince, Stallard

RESOLVED:

1. That the Winchester Town Forum be established for 2017/18 with membership consisting of all Members who represent the five Winchester Town Wards.

2. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Housing (Appeals) Committee and that Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:-

Councillors Cook, Porter, Thacker Deputies Councillor Scott

3. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Appeals and Disputes Committee and that the eight Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:

Councillors Burns, Hiscock, Hutchison, Huxstep, Learney, Stallard, Weir, Weston.

4. That the pool of Chairman for the Licensing Sub-Committee to serve on a basis under Council Procedure Rule 17 (9) (b) (i) be as follows:-

Councillors Burns, Green, Izard, Mather

The meeting commenced at 7pm and concluded at 8.20pm.

The Mayor